A plain explanation of what OTF (out-the-front) means, how a dual-action automatic differs from a folding knife, and which listing facts to check before buying.
What OTF means
OTF stands for out-the-front. It describes how the blade travels: it moves forward out of an opening at the front of the handle rather than swinging on a pivot like a folding knife. That is a statement about the mechanism's direction of travel, not about blade quality, lock strength or legal status.
A dual-action OTF is deployed and retracted by the same control. The New Purple Donut Switchblade OTF Knife is listed as a dual-action automatic, with the blade deployed and retracted by pressing a button. Single-action designs, where a separate manual step retracts the blade, are a different arrangement; do not assume one from the other.
What the listing states, and what it does not
The New Purple Donut Switchblade OTF Knife is listed with a D2 blade, a stone-washed surface, a pink anodized aluminum handle, a blade length of 8.2 cm, a blade width of 1.7 cm, a blade thickness of 3 mm, an overall length of 205 mm, a net weight of 93 g and 118 g stated as the weight including packaging. The description also mentions a 3.5-inch blade length, which does not match the 8.2 cm figure in the short description; 3.5 inches is about 8.9 cm. Because the two stated figures conflict, neither should be treated as the confirmed blade length.
The listing does not state a hardness figure, a lock type or rating, a corrosion-resistance rating, a sharpening method, a care routine, or whether the blade or any other part is user-replaceable or serviceable. Those are open questions for the seller, not details to infer from the material names or the photographs.
How to compare OTF options
Compare the facts each listing actually states rather than the mechanism label alone. Useful fields are the stated blade steel, blade and overall dimensions, handle material, weight, and whether the operation is described as dual-action. Where a listing gives a conflicting figure, note the conflict instead of picking the number that suits you.
Also check what the seller says about intended use, handling instructions and any restrictions that apply where you live or work. An OTF mechanism is one characteristic of a knife; it does not by itself establish suitability for a particular task.
Is an OTF knife the same as a switchblade?
OTF describes the blade travelling out of the front of the handle. Switchblade is a broader term often used for automatic knives generally. The New Purple Donut Switchblade OTF Knife is described as both an automatic out-the-front knife and a switchblade, so the two labels are used together on that listing.
Does the listing say how the blade is sharpened or replaced?
No. The listing gives no sharpening method and does not state whether the blade or any other part is user-replaceable or serviceable. Ask the seller before relying on either point.

